love thyself


I have many many friends

And a few who I call the best ones

Those chosen few who are and were

The pillars of my happiness

The rule for my smile

And the formula for my joy.

My friends were my life.

There is one to whom I am the glorious past,

That stands in ruins today,

Maybe I was his love, maybe he loved me.

Maybe there was a point in time, when his heart beat for me.

And I broke it as hard I could,

And I made him cry,

So that I can weep when he smiles.

Now he lies and audience

To the sad performance of my soul.

There is another who is pretty much the same,

But to him I am just a pending job,

I keep waiting so I can find,

I check mark in front of my name.

There is one who is lost in time,

The one who spent a small, frivolous,

Tensed and controversial time of her life with me.

We used to look like contradiction personified

But what a shame

She is lost in time

There are two who share my best kept secrets

They two have been with me for years

Those who whose presence I crave all the time

Those two girls were never to depart

But time now has parted our ways

They have a privilege I wish I never had

But nonetheless I am still not past

But a pleasant surprise every few months

And a hope for tomorrow

There is one who is too close for comfort

Suffocating me till the last breath

Presence is pain, but she is the last hope

For a monotonous life.

I keep avoiding as I am sick of her now

She has to go, I feel somehow.

I need to be left alone with myself

I need time to introspect

It has been a while since I met myself

Friends are important nonetheless

But you need some time apart.

Because you soul is your silent lover,

She waits in a corner till you come close to her,

Then shy as a budding rose she runs away.

You have to hold those hands tightly and let her know

That you are there for her unspoken words,

Unfulfilled promises and unfelt emotions.

So love yourself as much as you can

There is nothing more that you need in the world

Because I know when I love myself

I love the God inside me, the devil inside me

And yes this narcissist self is what still binds me

To the world full of strange friendships

And friendly strangers

Leave a Reply

