How To Ruin Your Resume/CV?


I have been scanning through a lot of resumes and CVs lately. There is a lot of talent to be acquired by my firm and given the fact that I am an acute micro-manager, you can believe that I am reading all your resumes very carefully. I have received resumes from different types of job hunters, right from freshers to people with 15 years of experience. They have all made a few common mistakes. I would now be sharing the most irritating, annoying and laughable mistakes that one makes in a CV/resume. I would not pretend to be a know-it-all. My first resume was as bad as a fresher’s resume could be, full of all the awards I had won, even if for debates. Anyway, I am long past that phase now but some people really need to check what they are doing before they send a mail to an employer, especially someone like me who bothers more about the quality of work you can provide, nothing else.

  • Writing sentences like ‘I am a passionate writer, team worker…’ and all

Hey listen, calm down. This mistake is often made by freshers who have never even been in a professional environment before. Team work, I can swear by any God that there is nothing like team work. Please don’t believe people who tell you otherwise. Every man is for himself in an office and you would do the same. So don’t make a claim that makes the employer cringe.

  • Mentioning too much experience

I have received resumes from writers who claim to have an experience of 3-5 years in this field and also have a huge list of blogs, articles etc. they could share. They would not take anything less than a rupee per word. But wait… that is where the smartness end. When I read their articles, they appear to be some grumpy 5 year old kid who is writing a diary because he did not get his favorite toy. I wonder why they wrote that and who were the wonderful clients who approved such writing. If they exist, please make them meet MyContentLab team and they will show you what content writing is all about. We have bad days too but that kind of writing…? nah! we don’t do that.

  • Mentioning all components of Microsoft Office (separately) under Technical Qualifications

No comments. Why don’t you just write Microsoft Office or simply Microsoft Word if that is what you know.

  • Mentioning your ‘category’

Listen to this and I am being very serious… I have a discrimination free workplace and I am least bothered whether you are a Brahmin or Rajput or anything. I don’t even wish to know these things. Believe it or not, there are people who write their category and most of them are who we know as ‘General Category’. Better luck somewhere else. Of course, not all people are like that. They are truly one in a million. If you are a good worker, you will be a good worker regardless of your caste, gender or even your sexual orientation. We don’t judge.

  • Mentioning how you saved a kitty

Okay so there is nothing really wrong in people sharing the charity work they did. It really appears nice to read something like that. However, if you ever went to a school for the blind because of an SUPW assessment, don’t mention it in your CV. Please do not. Show me some real social work.

  • Boasting too much

Yes, you have been great at academics, dance, singing and everything else. I know you are super talented but don’t write like you are boasting about your talents. That does not work. In my experience in almost 4 years, people who boast too much have too little to give to an organization. That is not what we want.

  • Making a looooooong CV

A CV with too many pages is a turn off. I once received a 9 page long CV. Yes, 9 pages. Where on earth do you get so many things to write about yourself? Make it 2 pages long to the most. Don’t write everything about your dreams, hopes, family background and even your romantic theories. Leave something for the interview.

  • A bad cover letter is dangerous

If you are sending a CV, make a good cover letter for it. The shorter, the better. Again, don’t write paragraphs about yourself. Someone just sent me a CV and that person had written a painfully long cover letter and that too a one that was forwarded by someone else. Uh!

  • Using tens of fonts

Use just one font – Times New Roman. Nothing else. Don’t use Callibri with Comic Sans. Plus, don’t even think that you could highlight the sub-headings by writing it in some ornate Gothic font that is unreadable to the human eye. I have made this mistake and I can laugh on my CV now. Don’t do this please. It really looks bad.

Looks like the CVs will keep dropping in and I will keep writing posts on the same subject. Phew!

Leave a Reply

